How many teams are in the NBA

How many teams are in the NBA?

Friends, the NBA is one of the biggest sporting events in the world, so people always have this question: how many teams are in the NBA? The answer is: 30 teams. This league is divided into 2 conferences. One is the Eastern Conference, and the other is the Western Conference. The Eastern Conference has three divisions, the Atlantic, Central, and Southeastern. Similarly, the Western Conference also has 3 divisions, the Northwest, Pacific, and Southwest. There are 5 teams in each division.

How many players are on the NBA team?

The way people want to know – how many teams are in the NBA? Similarly, another common question is how many players are on each team? The answer is every NBA team has 15 players. Of these 15 players, 12 are considered part of the active roster and may be ready to play the game. Apart from this, the remaining 3 players have been kept inactive or reserved. 5 players from each team play at a time. There is no rule in the NBA as to which player will play at which position. But the coach can decide which player can play at which position inside the court.

Let’s take a look at how many teams are in the NBA:

Eastern Conference


  • Boston Celtics
  • New Jersey Nets
  • New York Knicks
  • Philadelphia 76ers
  • Toronto Raptors


  • Chicago bulls
  • Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Detroit Pistons
  • Indiana Pacers
  • Milwaukee bucks


  • Atlanta Hawks
  • Charlotte Hornets
  • Miami heat
  • Orlando Magic
  • Washington wizards

Western Conference:


  • Denver Nuggets
  • Minnesota timberwolves
  • Oklahoma city thunder
  • Portland trail blazers
  • Utah Jazz



  • Dallas Mavericks
  • Houston Rockets
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • New Orleans Pelicans
  • San Antonio Spurs

Recent expanded NBA teams

The most recent expansion team in the NBA is the Charlotte Hornets. This team joined the league in 2004, and before that, the last team to join the NBA expansion was the Toronto Raptors. This team joined the league in 1995.

How many teams in the NBA?

See friends, there are a total of 30 teams in the NBA, out of which 29 are present in America, and 1 team is present in Canada. 4 states have more than one NBA team, and California alone has 4 NBA teams. The Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Lakers, LA Clippers, and Sacramento Kings in San Francisco.

We hope that from this article, you have got the answer to the question: how many teams are there in the NBA?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *